American Gods

American Gods by Neil Gaiman is one of my favourite books. After seeing the trailer for the upcoming American Gods TV show I felt the intense need to reread the book. Yep I still love it. Now I can get properly excited about the show. But more on that later. For those of you who haven’t read the book I can’t recommend it enough. The story follows Shadow as he gets wrapped up in a war between the old gods (like Odin and Easter) and the new gods (think Media and Technology). This book is so cleverly put together. It is the perfect novel for the history nerd especially if you love folklore and the old religious pantheons. Gods, monsters, and culture heroes from all backgrounds weave in and out of the story with Shadow stumbling blindly through the middle. I find one of the most interesting things about the book the fact that if you try you can figure out what is going on before Shadow does, or if you want you can stay with him as he slowly pieces together. For me the true joy was meeting the down at the heel gods. They moved to America with the people who believed in them, but then their people moved on and they were left to fend for themselves.

Now back to the upcoming TV show. It will debut sometime next year and I’m so frigging excited. When it was first rumoured that they were going to make the show I was cautiously optimistic. I wasn’t sure how well the story would translate to screen. Then I heard that Brian Fuller had signed on as show runner and I did a little happy dance. If that name sounds family it might be because he was also the show runner for Hannibal. If you haven’t seen any of his work but are a bit hesitant about watching Hannibal, you should absolutely watch Pushing Daisies or Dead Like Me. Suffice to say I was expecting a lot from the trailer and it delivered on all fronts. The casting is flawless, the tone is perfect, and it’s airing on Starz so they won’t have to pull any punches with the story. Now I just have to wait patiently for more trailers to tide me over until the show is released.

One thought on “American Gods

  1. Pingback: Five Fave: Urban Fantasy | Graveyard for the Living

Leave a Reply

