New Favourite Websites for Writers

In my quest to make some money as a writer I have discovered two websites that I have since fallen in love with, and visited just about every day. Those websites are Write Jobs, and Publishing … and Other Forms of Insanity . Want to enter a writing contest but don’t want to pay an entry fee? They’ve both got extensive lists of free contests for every kind of writer (here and here). Sick of scouring the internet for publications accepting submissions? Look no further  Looking for something more long-term? Publishing … and Other Forms of Insanity has lists of agents seeking clients for every genre and format imaginable. And Write Jobs, as the name suggests, is regularly updated with writing and editing jobs for all skill levels and interests.

I am in no way affiliated with either of these websites, but I felt the need to share them because they have given me so much hope that I can actually make money as a writer. I have always wanted to be a writer, but I almost started a career in international affairs because I believed that there was no way I would be able to make a living as a writer. While becoming well-known or highly regarded would be excellent, being able to say I’m a Writer has always been my ultimate goal and having found these sites I now feel one step closer.

If like me you are trying to a novel published I highly recommend you give the “Dear Lucky Agent” Contest a go. Its deadline is soon, but if your novel is already written and you’re shopping it around to agents or publishes it’s a perfect opportunity to increase your odds for publication.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

